Clerk-Recorder
Find recorded documents, recording requirements and certified copies. Find marriage licensing and county clerk services. Find fictitious business name (FBN / DBA) filing and renewal instructions. Business licenses are a separate service.
Source checked October 12, 2026[1]Opens this office’s own website. CountyWiki does not process applications, take payments or provide personal records.
Contact details & office locations ↓Online services & information
These links were found on official source pages. Each service is handled by the office.
Official county instructions for obtaining a new marriage license. Online application entry alone does not issue a license or replace the required appearance; confirm the license type, documents and visit arrangements.
Before you start
- Information & documents · New marriage license — standard in-person application
- Parties must present valid government-issued photo identification as proof of name and date of birth (Digital ID or ID screenshots will not be accepted). [23]
- Information & documents · New marriage license — standard in-person application
- If the previous marriage or SRDP ended by dissolution, divorce, or annulment within the last 30 days, you must present a certified copy of the final judgment issued by the court. [24]
- Deadlines · New marriage license — standard in-person application
- After submitting your application online and within 30 days, both parties to the marriage must come into the office to make a payment, complete the process and receive the marriage license. [25]
County-linked official public-record index. For submitting a new document or ordering copies, use the separate recording and copy resources below.
Official official instructions for requesting certificates. Read the office’s current requirements before continuing.
Start the county-linked pre-application. Follow the county instructions to complete issuance; submitting information online alone does not make you married.
Check the principal county, review filing fees and open the county’s filing instructions. Search and ordering an existing statement are separate from a new filing.
Before you start
- Deadlines · Initial filing — state deadline
- File within 40 days after starting business under the fictitious name. [26]
- Eligibility & access · Where to file — principal place of business
- File in the county of your principal California business location. If you have no California business location, file in Sacramento County. [27]
- Deadlines · New or changed filing — newspaper publication
- Start publication within 45 days after filing. Use a qualifying newspaper in the filing county, or an adjoining county if no qualifying newspaper exists there. [28]
- Information & documents · Newspaper notice — publication frequency
- Publish once a week for four successive weeks. [29]
- Deadlines · After publication — file the affidavit
- File the publication affidavit with the County Clerk within 45 days after publication is completed. Check whether your newspaper files it for you. [30]
- Deadlines · Expiration — earlier changes or abandonment can end the statement
- A statement generally lasts five years, but changes or abandonment can end it earlier. [31]
- Eligibility & access · No-change renewal — publication exception
- An unchanged renewal filed within 40 days after expiration does not need republication. Changes can require a new publication. [32]
- Information & documents · California principal business location
- Provide the street address and county of the principal business location. A registrant’s separate mailing-address rule does not remove this requirement. [33]
- Information & documents · Individual registrant — owner mailing address
- For an individual owner, provide the full name and business mailing address if different from the business address. Do not apply older blanket residence-address instructions. [34]
County instructions for document sizes, margins, cover sheets, multiple titles and channel-specific payment charges.
Before you start
- Information & documents · Document size and additional pages
- A printed back side counts as an additional page. [43]
- Information & documents · Recording margins and cover sheet
- Provide at least half an inch of margin on each vertical side. [44]
- Payments · In-person credit-card charge
- In-person credit-card transactions carry a 2.3% transaction charge. Mail and online payment rules are separate. [45]
County-linked copy-ordering service; distinct from recording a new document.
Fees
Fees are quoted only when a source document supports the amount and conditions.
| Service | Amount | Conditions & source |
|---|---|---|
| Certified birth certificate | $36.00per certified copy | Certified copy; current county notice states a fee increase effective January 1, 2026.[5]Effective January 1, 2026 |
| Certified marriage certificate | $21.00per certified copy | Certified copy; confirm the certificate type and request method.[6]Effective January 1, 2026 |
| Certified death certificate | $28.00per certified copy | Certified copy; confirm request eligibility with the office.[7]Effective January 1, 2026 |
| Basic deed recording — first page | $14.00first page | Basic recording fee; transfer tax, survey monument and other charges may also apply.[8] |
| Additional recording page | $3.00each additional page | Additional pages of deeds and leases; other applicable charges are separate.[9] |
| Public marriage license | $81.00per license | Individual license fee; ceremony, certified copies and any payment-provider charges are separate. Confirm the current total with the Clerk.[20] |
| Confidential marriage license | $90.00per license | Individual license fee; ceremony, certified copies and any payment-provider charges are separate. Confirm the current total with the Clerk.[21] |
| Marriage ceremony | $75.00per ceremony | Separate from the marriage license and certified-copy fees; confirm any conditions and the current total.[22] |
| FBN — Initial statement — one business and one owner | $40.00per filing | One business name and one owner; newspaper publication is separate. Effective date is not stated.[36] |
| FBN — Additional owner or business name | $7.00per additional name | Same statement; separate from the initial filing. Effective date is not stated.[37] |
| Recording — nonstandard page-size supplement | $3.00per document page | Supplement applies to every page if any page of the document is not 8.5 × 11 inches; additional to the regular recording charge.[46] |
| Recording — required cover-sheet page | $3.00per cover-sheet page | Additional recording charge when the first page lacks the required recording space and a cover sheet must be attached.[47] |
| Online order — debit or credit-card convenience fee | $2.00per online order | Non-refundable card convenience fee, additional to the applicable record/document charges; not an in-person card fee.[48] |
These are individual fee items, not a quote for your total. Other charges or exemptions may apply; confirm the total with the office.
Forms & documents
Official forms and document pages for this office’s services.
- Forms (opens in a new tab)web[3]
- Recording Cover Page (opens in a new tab)PDF[10]
- Preliminary Change of Ownership Report (opens in a new tab)PDF[11]
- Birth Certificate Order Form – Unrestricted (opens in a new tab)PDF[12]
- Marriage Certificate Order Form – Public Unrestricted (opens in a new tab)PDF[13]
- FBN forms directory (opens in a new tab)web[38]
- Recording cover page — county-linked document (opens in a new tab)web[49]
- Sample recording-document format (opens in a new tab)web[50]
Sources & last checked15 source pages · 50 citations
Sources were checked by an AI-assisted research process. A checked website does not mean every service or fee on it has been reviewed.
- [1] Alameda County — departments directory (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Department directory: Clerk-Recorder
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Department Website
- [2] Alameda County — clerk recorder (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Service link: Order Birth, Death & Marriage Certificates
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Order Birth, Death & Marriage Certificates
- [3] Alameda County — clerk recorder (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Forms/document link: Forms
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Forms
- [4] Alameda County — clerk recorder (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Contact information — hours
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
1106 Madison Street Oakland, CA 94607 Map Office Hours Monday – Friday (except holidays) 8:30 AM until 5:00 PM For faster service please avoid our busiest hours, between noon and 2:00 PM. Parking, Transit,
- [5] Alameda County — clerk-fees (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Fee schedule table — Certified birth certificate
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Birth: $36.00 per certified copy
- [6] Alameda County — clerk-fees (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Fee schedule table — Certified marriage certificate
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Marriage $21.00 per certified copy
- [7] Alameda County — clerk-fees (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Fee schedule table — Certified death certificate
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Death $28.00 per certified copy
- [8] Alameda County — recording-fees (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Fee schedule table — Basic deed recording — first page
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
$14.00 Basic Recording fee for the First Page
- [9] Alameda County — recording-fees (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Fee schedule table — Additional recording page
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
$3.00 Each Additional Page
- [10] Alameda County — clerk-forms (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Published form link: Recording Cover Page
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Recording Cover Page
- [11] Alameda County — clerk-forms (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Published form link: Preliminary Change of Ownership Report
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Preliminary Change of Ownership Report
- [12] Alameda County — clerk-forms (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Published form link: Birth Certificate Order Form – Unrestricted
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Birth Certificate Order Form – Unrestricted
- [13] Alameda County — clerk-forms (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Published form link: Marriage Certificate Order Form – Public Unrestricted
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Marriage Certificate Order Form – Public Unrestricted
- [14] Alameda County — clerk recorder (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Contact information — phone
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
s help Questions Contact Customer Service at (510) 272-6362 or email CROCustomerService@acgov.org person In-Person Services and Locations Oakland Office Contact Us Please complete our Customer Survey and rate your experience! Full Service Locati
- [15] Alameda County — clerk recorder (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Contact information — address
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
rate your experience! Full Service Location 1106 Madison Street Oakland, CA 94607 Map Office Hours Monday – Friday (except holidays) 8:30 AM until 5:00 PM For faster service please avoid our busiest hours, between noon and 2:00 PM. Parking, Tra
- [16] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — Clerk-Recorder
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Clerk-Recorder
- [17] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — Apply for a Marriage License
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Apply for a Marriage License
- [18] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Marriage service contact — Marriage license issuance — cutoff — hours
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
marriage license issuance has a cut-off time of 4:00pm.
- [19] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Marriage service contact — Clerk-Recorder — customer service — phone
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
1-888-280-7708
- [20] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — $81.00 Public Marriage License
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
$81.00 Public Marriage License
- [21] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — $90.00 Confidential Marriage License
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
$90.00 Confidential Marriage License
- [22] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — $75.00 Marriage Ceremony
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
$75.00 Marriage Ceremony
- [23] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — Parties must present valid government-issued photo identification as proof of name and date of birth
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Parties must present valid government-issued photo identification as proof of name and date of birth (Digital ID or ID screenshots will not be accepted).
- [24] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — If the previous marriage or SRDP ended by dissolution, divorce, or annulment within the last 30 days
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
If the previous marriage or SRDP ended by dissolution, divorce, or annulment within the last 30 days, you must present a certified copy of the final judgment issued by the court.
- [25] Alameda marriage services — in person (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — Clerk marriage services · Official marriage licensing information — After submitting your application online and within 30 days, both parties to the marriage must come
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
After submitting your application online and within 30 days, both parties to the marriage must come into the office to make a payment, complete the process and receive the marriage license.
- [26] Business and Professions Code 17910 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17910(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
File a fictitious business name statement in accordance with this chapter not later than 40 days from the time the registrant commences to transact such business.
- [27] Business and Professions Code 17915 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17915
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
A fictitious business name statement shall be filed with the clerk of the county in which the registrant has his or her principal place of business in this state or, if the registrant has no place of business in this state, with the Clerk of Sacramento County.
- [28] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Within 45 days after a fictitious business name statement has been filed pursuant to this chapter, the registrant shall cause a statement in the form prescribed by subdivision (a) of Section 17913 to be published pursuant to Section 6064 of the Government Code in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the fictitious business name statement was filed or, if there is no such newspaper in that county, in a newspaper of general circulation in an adjoining county.
- [29] California — FBN publication-frequency (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · Government Code §6064
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Publication of notice pursuant to this section shall be once a week for four successive weeks.
- [30] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(d)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
An affidavit showing the publication of the statement shall be filed with the county clerk where the fictitious business name statement was filed within 45 days after the completion of the publication.
- [31] Business and Professions Code 17920 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17920(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Unless the statement expires earlier under subdivision (b) or (c), a fictitious business name statement expires five years from the date it was filed in the office of the county clerk.
- [32] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(c)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If a refiling is required because the prior statement has expired, the refiling need not be published unless there has been a change in the information required in the expired statement, provided the refiling is filed within 40 days of the date the statement expired.
- [33] Business and Professions Code 17913 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17913(b)(2)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If the registrant has a place of business in this state, insert the street address, and county, of the registrant’s principal place of business in this state.
- [34] Business and Professions Code 17913 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17913(b)(3)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If the registrant is an individual, insert the registrant’s full name and business mailing address if it differs from the business address.
- [35] Alameda — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — business name filing · Fictitious business name — Fictitious Business Name
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Fictitious Business Name
- [36] Alameda — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — business name filing · FBN fee — FBN — Initial statement — one business and one owner
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
$40.00 One Business Name and One Owner
- [37] Alameda — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — business name filing · FBN fee — FBN — Additional owner or business name
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
$7.00 Fee for each additional owner or Fictitious Business Name listed on the same statement
- [38] Alameda — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County — business name filing · FBN official resource — FBN forms directory
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
FBN Forms
- [39] Alameda recorder — property records and provider resources (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County · Official department homepage — Clerk-Recorder | Alameda County | Alameda County Auditor-Controller/Clerk-Recorder
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Request for Quote – SB 255 Recorder Notification Program
- [40] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Search official recorded documents
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Research Public Records
- [41] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Real-property recording requirements and charges
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Real Property Sales & Transfers
- [42] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Order copies of official public records
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Order Copies of Public Records
- [43] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Document size and additional pages
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
The backside of a document page is considered an additional page.
- [44] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Recording margins and cover sheet
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Each document submitted for recording shall have at least a 1/2″ margin on each vertical side.
- [45] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — In-person credit-card charge
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
A 2.3% transaction fee of the purchase amount applies to all in-person credit-card transactions.
- [46] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Recording — nonstandard page-size supplement
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If any page of a document is not 8.5″ x 11″, then all pages of the document will be subject to a supplemental fee of $3.00 for each page.
- [47] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Recording — required cover-sheet page
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
In the event the first page or sheet of a document does not contain the above required space, a cover sheet must be attached to the front of the document. This page shall contain the requesting party information and shall reflect the title or titles of the document. There is an additional recording fee of $3.00 for this page.
- [48] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Online order — debit or credit-card convenience fee
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
A $2.00 non-refundable convenience fee per order applies to all online debit card and credit card transactions.
- [49] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Recording cover page — county-linked document
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Recording Cover Page
- [50] Alameda — property records (opens in a new tab)
Alameda County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Sample recording-document format
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Sample Document Format