Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk
Find property assessments, parcel information and property tax exemptions. Find recorded documents, recording requirements and certified copies. Find marriage licensing and county clerk services. Find fictitious business name (FBN / DBA) filing and renewal instructions. Business licenses are a separate service.
Source checked October 14, 2026[2]Opens this office’s own website. CountyWiki does not process applications, take payments or provide personal records.
Contact details & office locations ↓Online services & information
These links were found on official source pages. Each service is handled by the office.
County instructions and application forms for certified vital records; confirm authorized-copy eligibility and record availability.
Before you start
- Availability
- Death Certificates: Our office receives San Bernardino County death certificates 30-60 days after the event occurred. If you are in need of the certificate prior to that, please contact the San Bernardino County Department of Public Health. [13]
Official county instructions for obtaining a new marriage license. Online application entry alone does not issue a license or replace the required appearance; confirm the license type, documents and visit arrangements.
Before you start
- Eligibility & access
- If one or both parties requesting a marriage license are under the age of 18, then a court order and judge/parental consent for the minor must be obtained and filed with the county clerk before a license can be issued. This applies to emancipated minors as well. Additional information about marriage. [14]
- Payments
- Card payments include a 3.5% surcharge. PAYMENT METHODS NOT ACCEPTED: American Express • Cash App Cards • Prepaid Cards • Apple Pay • Samsung Pay • Google Pay [15]
The county describes online, mail and in-person routes with different completion steps. Keep the confirmation code; current mail charges have their own July 1, 2026 effective date and are not the base filing fee.
Before you start
- Processing time · Online filing — stated processing window
- The county states up to ten business days to process the online filing and sends a copy and receipt by email. [30]
- Deadlines · Initial filing — state deadline
- File within 40 days after starting business under the fictitious name. [17]
- Eligibility & access · Where to file — principal place of business
- File in the county of your principal California business location. If you have no California business location, file in Sacramento County. [18]
- Deadlines · New or changed filing — newspaper publication
- Start publication within 45 days after filing. Use a qualifying newspaper in the filing county, or an adjoining county if no qualifying newspaper exists there. [19]
- Information & documents · Newspaper notice — publication frequency
- Publish once a week for four successive weeks. [20]
- Deadlines · After publication — file the affidavit
- File the publication affidavit with the County Clerk within 45 days after publication is completed. Check whether your newspaper files it for you. [21]
- Deadlines · Expiration — earlier changes or abandonment can end the statement
- A statement generally lasts five years, but changes or abandonment can end it earlier. [22]
- Eligibility & access · No-change renewal — publication exception
- An unchanged renewal filed within 40 days after expiration does not need republication. Changes can require a new publication. [23]
- Information & documents · California principal business location
- Provide the street address and county of the principal business location. A registrant’s separate mailing-address rule does not remove this requirement. [24]
- Information & documents · Individual registrant — owner mailing address
- For an individual owner, provide the full name and business mailing address if different from the business address. Do not apply older blanket residence-address instructions. [25]
County guidance and links to its public Assessor map and GIS dashboard. These assessment resources do not establish legal ownership or permitted land use, and the office does not provide special query services.
Before you start
- Accessibility · Parcel Access browser recommendation
- The county recommends Chrome or Firefox for its Parcel Access application. [35]
- Availability · Special query services
- The Assessor-Recorder-Clerk does not provide special query services. Third-party vendors have separate services and potential fees. [36]
- Availability · Legal ownership and permitted land use
- Assessment information does not establish legal ownership or permitted land use. Confirm permitted use with the city or county Land Use Services, as applicable. [37]
County-linked interactive Parcel Access map for public property-information searches.
GIS dashboard linked by the county Assessor.
County instructions for the 1925-onward Recorder index and separate copy orders. The index does not display images; non-certified copies are emailed, certified copies are shipped, and map copies have a specific purchase location.
Before you start
- Availability · Online index versus viewing document images
- The online index does not show document images. The county directs in-person document viewing to the Hall of Records in San Bernardino or High Desert Government Center in Hesperia. [42]
- Availability · Non-certified versus certified copy delivery
- Non-certified copies are emailed; certified copies are shipped to the supplied address. These are different delivery channels. [43]
- Availability · Map-copy purchase location
- Purchase map copies at the San Bernardino Hall of Records; the county does not list Hesperia as a map-copy purchase location. [44]
- Appointments · In-person index research
- Appointments are strongly encouraged and prioritized for in-person access. Use the county’s booking link. [45]
- Payments · Online card orders — surcharge and excluded methods
- Online credit-card payments add 3.5%. The county separately lists payment methods it does not accept; check the current page before ordering. [46]
- Availability · Posted department drill — October 15, no printed year
- The department posts possible brief disruptions for a drill on Thursday, October 15 at 10:15 a.m. No year is printed in the notice; confirm counter arrangements rather than assuming an all-day closure. [47]
County-linked official-record index and copy-order system. Images are not displayed in the index; copy delivery depends on certification.
County-linked appointment booking for public official-record research.
County instructions for presenting a new document for recording, separate from index research and copies.
Fees
Fees are quoted only when a source document supports the amount and conditions.
| Service | Amount | Conditions & source |
|---|---|---|
| Certified birth certificate | $34.00per copy or record search | Standard paid certified copy or record search. Check the service instructions for authorized-copy eligibility and any applicable fee-exempt process.[6] |
| Certified death certificate | $26.00per copy or record search | Standard paid certified copy or record search. Check the service instructions for authorized-copy eligibility and any applicable fee-exempt process.[7] |
| Certified marriage certificate | $19.00per copy or record search | Standard paid certified copy or record search. Check the service instructions for authorized-copy eligibility and any applicable fee-exempt process.[8] |
| Public marriage license | $120.00per license | License fee only; ceremony, witness and other services are separate.[9] |
| Confidential marriage license | $135.00per license | License fee only; ceremony, witness and other services are separate.[10] |
| FBN — Statement filing | $90.00per filing | Additional names, card charges, postage and publication are separate. Effective date is not stated.[27] |
| FBN — Additional business or registrant name | $2.00per additional name | Additional FBN or registrant name. Effective date is not stated.[28] |
| Official-record copy — first page | $4.00first page | First copy page; subsequent pages, certificate under seal and mailing charges are separate.[49] |
| Official-record copy — subsequent page | $1.50each subsequent page | Subsequent page after the first copy page.[50] |
| Official-record certificate under seal | $1.50per page | The county explicitly lists this certificate-under-seal charge per page; do not convert it to a per-document fee.[51] |
| Official-record order — USPS standard mail | $3.50mailing charge | Published standard-mail charge effective July 1, 2026; copy and certification charges are separate.[52]Effective July 1, 2026 |
| Official-record order — USPS Priority Mail | $29.00mailing charge | Published Priority Mail charge effective July 1, 2026; copy and certification charges are separate.[53]Effective July 1, 2026 |
These are individual fee items, not a quote for your total. Other charges or exemptions may apply; confirm the total with the office.
Forms & documents
Official forms and document pages for this office’s services.
Sources & last checked14 source pages · 54 citations
Sources were checked by an AI-assisted research process. A checked website does not mean every service or fee on it has been reviewed.
- [1] County property-tax officials directory (opens in a new tab)
California State Board of Equalization · San Bernardino row — assessor telephone column
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
36. San Bernardino Josie Gonzales 909-387-8307 Ensen Mason 909-387-8308 Lynna Monell 909-387-3841 Ensen Mason 909-387-8308 Gaines/Schaefer
- [2] Official county vital records and recorder information (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · County publisher heading or named department on its official page.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk
- [3] Official county vital records and recorder information (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Named service instructions on the county publisher’s current page.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
The Recorder-County Clerk’s office may provide a certified copy of a birth, death, or public marriage certificate to an authorized person only.
- [4] Official county vital records and recorder information (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Recorder / County Clerk enquiries — explicitly scoped contact field on the county page.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Recorder-Clerk Services: 909.387.8306
- [5] Official county vital records and recorder information (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Department address — explicitly scoped contact field on the county page.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
222 West Hospitality Lane San Bernardino, CA 92415
- [6] County vital records — fees (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Exact fee row; record type and payment channel retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Birth Certificate/Search H&S103625(b)(2)(f), 100425, $34.00
- [7] County vital records — fees (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Exact fee row; record type and payment channel retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Death Certificate/Search H&S103625(a) (f), 100425, 100430, $26.00
- [8] County vital records — fees (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Exact fee row; record type and payment channel retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Marriage Certificate/Search H&S103625(c)(f), 100425, 103625 $19.00
- [9] County vital records — fees (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Exact fee row; record type and payment channel retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Marriage license/replacement license GC26840 ,GC268403(2), 26840.3, $120.00
- [10] County vital records — fees (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Exact fee row; record type and payment channel retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Confidential marriage license/replacement license GC26840.1, 26840.3 (2) $135.00
- [11] Official county vital records and recorder information (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · County page links to this named application; link-only evidence, not a completed form.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Birth, Death, Marriage Certificate Application (English)
- [12] Official county vital records and recorder information (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · County page links to this named application; link-only evidence, not a completed form.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Birth, Death, Marriage Certificate Application (Español)
- [13] Official county vital records and recorder information (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Specific county service rule; exceptions and channel restrictions retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Death Certificates: Our office receives San Bernardino County death certificates 30-60 days after the event occurred. If you are in need of the certificate prior to that, please contact the San Bernardino County Department of Public Health. How to obtain this service… B
- [14] County vital records — license (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Specific county service rule; exceptions and channel restrictions retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
If one or both parties requesting a marriage license are under the age of 18, then a court order and judge/parental consent for the minor must be obtained and filed with the county clerk before a license can be issued. This applies to emancipated minors as well. Additional information about marriage. Who is authorized to solemnize a marriage ceremo
- [15] County vital records — license (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Specific county service rule; exceptions and channel restrictions retained.
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Card payments include a 3.5% surcharge. PAYMENT METHODS NOT ACCEPTED: American Express • Cash App Cards • Prepaid Cards • Apple Pay • Samsung Pay • Google Pay Complete Fee Schedule Offices Providing this Service San Bernardino Hall of Records Hesperi
- [16] County vital records — license (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk · Official marriage licensing information — Marriage Certificate. get a marriage license. pay my property taxes (Tax Collector Website). record
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Marriage Certificate. get a marriage license. pay my property taxes (Tax Collector Website). record
- [17] Business and Professions Code 17910 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17910(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
File a fictitious business name statement in accordance with this chapter not later than 40 days from the time the registrant commences to transact such business.
- [18] Business and Professions Code 17915 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17915
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
A fictitious business name statement shall be filed with the clerk of the county in which the registrant has his or her principal place of business in this state or, if the registrant has no place of business in this state, with the Clerk of Sacramento County.
- [19] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Within 45 days after a fictitious business name statement has been filed pursuant to this chapter, the registrant shall cause a statement in the form prescribed by subdivision (a) of Section 17913 to be published pursuant to Section 6064 of the Government Code in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the fictitious business name statement was filed or, if there is no such newspaper in that county, in a newspaper of general circulation in an adjoining county.
- [20] California — FBN publication-frequency (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · Government Code §6064
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Publication of notice pursuant to this section shall be once a week for four successive weeks.
- [21] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(d)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
An affidavit showing the publication of the statement shall be filed with the county clerk where the fictitious business name statement was filed within 45 days after the completion of the publication.
- [22] Business and Professions Code 17920 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17920(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Unless the statement expires earlier under subdivision (b) or (c), a fictitious business name statement expires five years from the date it was filed in the office of the county clerk.
- [23] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(c)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If a refiling is required because the prior statement has expired, the refiling need not be published unless there has been a change in the information required in the expired statement, provided the refiling is filed within 40 days of the date the statement expired.
- [24] Business and Professions Code 17913 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17913(b)(2)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If the registrant has a place of business in this state, insert the street address, and county, of the registrant’s principal place of business in this state.
- [25] Business and Professions Code 17913 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17913(b)(3)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If the registrant is an individual, insert the registrant’s full name and business mailing address if it differs from the business address.
- [26] San Bernardino — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County — business name filing · Fictitious business name — Fictitious Business Name
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Fictitious Business Name
- [27] San Bernardino — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County — business name filing · FBN fee — FBN — Statement filing
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
FBN Filing: $90
- [28] San Bernardino — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County — business name filing · FBN fee — FBN — Additional business or registrant name
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Additional FBN or registrant name: $2
- [29] San Bernardino — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County — business name filing · FBN official resource — FBN mail-in statement
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Fictitious Business Name Statement (Mail-In Request Only)
- [30] San Bernardino — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County — business name filing · FBN requirement — Online filing — stated processing window
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Filings are processed within 10 business days from the day you apply.
- [31] San Bernardino assessor — property records and provider resources (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · Official department homepage — San Bernardino County Assessor
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Josie Gonzales | Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk
- [32] San Bernardino — property query (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County official service / referred provider · County property lookup — Assessor property information and interactive maps
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
The Assessor’s Parcel Access application provides for publicly available property information searches via an interactive map of San Bernardino County.
- [33] San Bernardino — property query (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County official service / referred provider · County property lookup — Open the public Assessor map
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Public Assessor Map
- [34] San Bernardino — property query (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County official service / referred provider · County property lookup — Open the Assessor GIS dashboard
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Assessor GIS Dashboard
- [35] San Bernardino — property query (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County official service / referred provider · County property lookup — Parcel Access browser recommendation
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Please use Chrome or Firefox web browsers.
- [36] San Bernardino — property query (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County official service / referred provider · County property lookup — Special query services
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
ARC does not provide special query services.
- [37] San Bernardino — property query (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County official service / referred provider · County property lookup — Legal ownership and permitted land use
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
The County Assessor does not determine the permitted use of property nor legal ownership of property.
- [38] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official public-record index and copy options
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Document Search 1925 to the present:
- [39] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Search Recorder index and order official-record copies
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Document Search
- [40] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Book in-person Recorder research appointment
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Book Your Appointment Here
- [41] San Bernardino assessor — property records and provider resources (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Record a new document — county instructions
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Document Recording
- [42] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Online index versus viewing document images
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Please note this is an index only and does not allow the customer to view the actual document images
- [43] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Non-certified versus certified copy delivery
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Non-certified copy requests will be emailed to the provided email address. Certified copy requests will be shipped to the shipping address provided on the request.
- [44] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Map-copy purchase location
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Map copies may only be purchased at the San Bernardino Hall of Records location.
- [45] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — In-person index research
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Appointment are strongly encouraged and prioritized.
- [46] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Online card orders — surcharge and excluded methods
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Credit Card payments online include a 3.5% surcharge.
- [47] San Bernardino assessor — property records and provider resources (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Posted department drill — October 15, no printed year
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Assessor-Recorder-County Clerk personnel are participating in the California Great ShakeOut earthquake drill on Thursday, October 15th at 10:15 AM. Please be advised that there may be temporary disruptions to normal business operations during the drill.
- [48] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official-record copy requests — mailing
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
222 W. Hospitality Lane, 1st Floor San Bernardino, CA 92415-0022
- [49] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official-record copy — first page
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
First Page: $4 Each Subsequent Page After First: $1.50 Certificate Under Seal (Per Page): $1.50
- [50] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official-record copy — subsequent page
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
First Page: $4 Each Subsequent Page After First: $1.50 Certificate Under Seal (Per Page): $1.50
- [51] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official-record certificate under seal
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Certificate Under Seal (Per Page): $1.50
- [52] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official-record order — USPS standard mail
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Effective 07/01/2026 Mail fees: • $3.50 USPS Standard Mail • $29.00 USPS Priority Mail
- [53] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official-record order — USPS Priority Mail
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Effective 07/01/2026 Mail fees: • $3.50 USPS Standard Mail • $29.00 USPS Priority Mail
- [54] 06071 Recorder — index (current official county page) (opens in a new tab)
San Bernardino County · County Recorder — Official-record copy request — mail form
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Copy Request Form