Clerk-Recorder
Find recorded documents, recording requirements and certified copies. Find marriage licensing and county clerk services. Find fictitious business name (FBN / DBA) filing and renewal instructions. Business licenses are a separate service.
Source checked October 12, 2026[1]sonomacounty.gov
Opens this office’s own website. CountyWiki does not process applications, take payments or provide personal records.
Contact details & office locations ↓Online services & information
These links were found on official source pages. Each service is handled by the office.
Official county instructions for obtaining a new marriage license. Online application entry alone does not issue a license or replace the required appearance; confirm the license type, documents and visit arrangements.
How to get started
- Complete the county’s online marriage license application and follow the checkout instructions.
- Check the county’s document requirements for your circumstances, including identification and any additional records.
- Appear together at the Clerk-Recorder office during its business hours.
Before you start
- Information & documents
- Valid, government-issued photo identification with name and date of birth is required Driver's license, passport or US-government military identification (with date of birth listed) are acceptable forms of identification If providing a credencial para votar or Consulate ID such as a matricula, parties must also provide a birth certificate If your full name (first, middle and last) is not printed in its entirety on your ID, you must bring in a copy of your birth certificate If a divorce or State Registered Domestic Partnership (SRDP) termination was final within the past 90 days, a copy of the final judgment must be provided [12]
- Deadlines
- Marriage licenses are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance, after which the license expires, and a new license must be obtained [13]
Sonoma County separates paid regular-copy downloads from certified copies mailed by staff. Have the document number ready; counter and online card fees differ.
Before you start
- Information & documents · Copy identification
- Supply the recording document number; staff cannot identify which documents you want to purchase. [31]
- Availability · Certified copies — no download
- Certified copies are processed and mailed by staff; they cannot be downloaded. [32]
- Processing time · Mail copy processing
- The county lists 2–3 weeks for mail processing; this is not an instant download or guaranteed delivery date. [33]
Official official instructions for requesting certificates. Read the office’s current requirements before continuing.
Use the county’s official FBN portal or statement form and review publication and filing fees. Older residence-address text is not used as a current owner-address requirement. Private renewal solicitations are not county filing fees.
Before you start
- Availability · Direct filing option
- You can file directly with the County Clerk instead of paying a private renewal service. [28]
- Deadlines · Initial filing — state deadline
- File within 40 days after starting business under the fictitious name. [15]
- Eligibility & access · Where to file — principal place of business
- File in the county of your principal California business location. If you have no California business location, file in Sacramento County. [16]
- Deadlines · New or changed filing — newspaper publication
- Start publication within 45 days after filing. Use a qualifying newspaper in the filing county, or an adjoining county if no qualifying newspaper exists there. [17]
- Information & documents · Newspaper notice — publication frequency
- Publish once a week for four successive weeks. [18]
- Deadlines · After publication — file the affidavit
- File the publication affidavit with the County Clerk within 45 days after publication is completed. Check whether your newspaper files it for you. [19]
- Deadlines · Expiration — earlier changes or abandonment can end the statement
- A statement generally lasts five years, but changes or abandonment can end it earlier. [20]
- Eligibility & access · No-change renewal — publication exception
- An unchanged renewal filed within 40 days after expiration does not need republication. Changes can require a new publication. [21]
- Information & documents · California principal business location
- Provide the street address and county of the principal business location. A registrant’s separate mailing-address rule does not remove this requirement. [22]
- Information & documents · Individual registrant — owner mailing address
- For an individual owner, provide the full name and business mailing address if different from the business address. Do not apply older blanket residence-address instructions. [23]
County-linked document search and copy ordering. Certified copies ship; regular online downloads have a separate fee.
Fees
Fees are quoted only when a source document supports the amount and conditions.
| Service | Amount | Conditions & source |
|---|---|---|
| Printed recorded-document copy | $5.00per page | Standard printed pages up to 11 × 17 inches.[4] |
| Recorded-document certification | $4.00per document | Certification charge listed separately from copy fees.[5] |
| Regular (public) marriage license | $82.00per license | Public marriage license; one witness is required at the ceremony.[9] |
| Confidential marriage license | $98.00per license | Confidential license: parties must be living together as spouses and both be at least 18.[10] |
| FBN — First business and first owner | $55.00per filing | First business name and first owner name; newspaper costs separate. Effective date is not stated.[25] |
| FBN — Additional business or owner name | $9.00per additional name | Each additional business or owner name. Effective date is not stated.[26] |
| Online official-record download | $4.00per document | Online regular-copy download; certified copies are processed and mailed instead.[34] |
| In-person official-record copy | $5.00per page | In-person printed copy; certification is an additional charge.[35] |
| Official-record certification — additional | $4.00per document | Additional to in-person copy-page charges.[36] |
| Online copy order — card convenience fee | $2.00per transaction | Online copy-order card charge; in-person card use has a different listed charge.[37] |
| In-person copy order — card convenience fee | $2.50card convenience charge | In-person card charge; separate from online transaction fee.[38] |
These are individual fee items, not a quote for your total. Other charges or exemptions may apply; confirm the total with the office.
Forms & documents
Official forms and document pages for this office’s services.
Sources & last checked12 source pages · 39 citations
Sources were checked by an AI-assisted research process. A checked website does not mean every service or fee on it has been reviewed.
- [1] Sonoma County — departments directory (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County · Department directory: Clerk-Recorder
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Title certificate
- [2] Sonoma County — clerk recorder (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County · Service link: Birth Certificates
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Birth Certificates
- [3] Sonoma County — clerk recorder (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County · Forms/document link: Clerk-Recorder Forms
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Clerk-Recorder Forms
- [4] Sonoma County — recorder-fees (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County · Fee schedule table — Printed recorded-document copy
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Standard Printed Pages (up to 11" x 17") [Government Code § 27366] $5.00 per page
- [5] Sonoma County — recorder-fees (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County · Fee schedule table — Recorded-document certification
Source reviewed October 12, 2026View supporting excerpt
Certification [Government Code § 27364] $4.00 per document
- [6] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · Contact us by Phone — Clerk-Recorder; phone hours Monday–Friday 9 AM–4 PM
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
(707) 565-3800
- [7] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · County Clerk-Recorder Office — Address
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
585 Fiscal Drive Room 103 Santa Rosa, CA 95403
- [8] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · Clerk-Recorder — Business Hours and transaction cutoff
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Monday – Tuesday 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM Wednesday 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM Thursday – Friday 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM Note: No fee transactions or document processing within 30 minutes of closing
- [9] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · Regular (public) marriage license — fee and conditions
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
General Regular (Public) Marriage License License fee: $82.00 Marriage can be performed anywhere in California One witness is required at the ceremony Minors can only obtain a license with a Court order Contact Superior Court Family Law Division at (707) 521-6630 for more details. License is a matter of public record License is recorded at County Recorder's Office of county issuing license (in Sonoma County the Clerk's Office provides this service for Recorder). See Certified Copies of Marriage Licenses
- [10] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · Confidential marriage license — fee and conditions
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Confidential Marriage License License Fee - $98.00 Parties must be living together as spouses Both parties must be at least 18 Marriage can be performed anywhere in California No witnesses required License is confidential (see
- [11] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · Applications and Forms — linked online application
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Online Application for Marriage License »
- [12] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · General Requirements — identification and conditional additional documents
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Valid, government-issued photo identification with name and date of birth is required Driver's license, passport or US-government military identification (with date of birth listed) are acceptable forms of identification If providing a credencial para votar or Consulate ID such as a matricula, parties must also provide a birth certificate If your full name (first, middle and last) is not printed in its entirety on your ID, you must bring in a copy of your birth certificate If a divorce or State Registered Domestic Partnership (SRDP) termination was final within the past 90 days, a copy of the final judgment must be provided
- [13] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · General Requirements — license validity
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
Marriage licenses are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance, after which the license expires, and a new license must be obtained
- [14] Sonoma County Clerk — Marriage license instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County Clerk · Marriage License — application instructions and General Requirements
Source reviewed October 14, 2026View supporting excerpt
To obtain a marriage license, complete the Online Application for Marriage License and follow the instructions at Checkout. Please email marriage@sonomacounty.gov for more information. Important Notice The staff of the Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office are forbidden by California legal codes to practice law or provide legal advice; this prohibition includes giving advice about what forms you might need or how you should fill them out. Applications and Forms Online Application for Marriage License » Aplicación para Licencia de Matrimonio en Linea » Marriage Licenses A marriage license must be purchased prior to a marriage ceremony occurring and may be obtained at the County Clerk-Recorder Office during business hours. Please see our current business hours to the right under Contact Information. General Requirements Parties must physically appear together in person at the County Clerk's Office to be issued a marriage license prior to the marriage ceremony. The Name Equality Act of 2007 requires couples to state on the license the middle and last names they intend to use after the wedding. Read more about the Name Equality Act 2007(PDF: 311 kB) Parties to the marriage must appear together Valid, government-issued photo identification with name and date of birth is required Driver's license, passport or US-government military identification (with date of birth listed) are acceptable forms of identification If providing a credencial para votar or Consulate ID such as a matricula, parties must also provide a birth certificate If your full name (first, middle and last) is not printed in its entirety on your ID, you must bring in a copy of your birth certificate If a divorce or State Registered Domestic Partnership (SRDP) termination was final within the past 90 days, a copy of the final judgment must be provided Marriage licenses are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance, after which the license expires, and a new license must be obtained It is preferable that the marriage license application (Aplicación par Licencia de Matrimonio en linea) be completed online Applications may also be completed at the public kiosk in the Clerk-Recorder Office. Blood tests are no longer required to obtain a marriage license in California
- [15] Business and Professions Code 17910 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17910(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
File a fictitious business name statement in accordance with this chapter not later than 40 days from the time the registrant commences to transact such business.
- [16] Business and Professions Code 17915 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17915
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
A fictitious business name statement shall be filed with the clerk of the county in which the registrant has his or her principal place of business in this state or, if the registrant has no place of business in this state, with the Clerk of Sacramento County.
- [17] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Within 45 days after a fictitious business name statement has been filed pursuant to this chapter, the registrant shall cause a statement in the form prescribed by subdivision (a) of Section 17913 to be published pursuant to Section 6064 of the Government Code in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the fictitious business name statement was filed or, if there is no such newspaper in that county, in a newspaper of general circulation in an adjoining county.
- [18] California — FBN publication-frequency (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · Government Code §6064
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Publication of notice pursuant to this section shall be once a week for four successive weeks.
- [19] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(d)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
An affidavit showing the publication of the statement shall be filed with the county clerk where the fictitious business name statement was filed within 45 days after the completion of the publication.
- [20] Business and Professions Code 17920 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17920(a)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Unless the statement expires earlier under subdivision (b) or (c), a fictitious business name statement expires five years from the date it was filed in the office of the county clerk.
- [21] Business and Professions Code 17917 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17917(c)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If a refiling is required because the prior statement has expired, the refiling need not be published unless there has been a change in the information required in the expired statement, provided the refiling is filed within 40 days of the date the statement expired.
- [22] Business and Professions Code 17913 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17913(b)(2)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If the registrant has a place of business in this state, insert the street address, and county, of the registrant’s principal place of business in this state.
- [23] Business and Professions Code 17913 — fictitious business names (opens in a new tab)
California Legislature · BPC §17913(b)(3)
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
If the registrant is an individual, insert the registrant’s full name and business mailing address if it differs from the business address.
- [24] Sonoma — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County — business name filing · Fictitious business name — Fictitious Business Name
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Fictitious Business Name
- [25] Sonoma — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County — business name filing · FBN fee — FBN — First business and first owner
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
$55.00 for the first business name and first owner name
- [26] Sonoma — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County — business name filing · FBN fee — FBN — Additional business or owner name
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
$9.00 for each additional business or owner name
- [27] Sonoma — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County — business name filing · FBN official resource — FBN statement form
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Fictitious Business Name Statement Form
- [28] Sonoma — fictitious business name instructions (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County — business name filing · FBN requirement — Direct filing option
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Business owners can deal directly with the County Clerk’s Office when filing.
- [29] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Official-record copies — download, office and mail
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Official Public Record Copies
- [30] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Search document index and order copies
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Search Sonoma County Document Index Now
- [31] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Copy identification
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
To purchase a document, you must provide the document number of the document you wish to obtain.
- [32] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Certified copies — no download
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Certified copies may not be downloaded and will be processed and mailed by our staff.
- [33] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Mail copy processing
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Mail processing time is 2 - 3 weeks.
- [34] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Online official-record download
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
The cost of downloading an official record is $4.00 per document.
- [35] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — In-person official-record copy
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
In Person: The cost of an official record is $5.00 per page - for a certified copy, the cost is an additional $4.00 per document.
- [36] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Official-record certification — additional
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
In Person: The cost of an official record is $5.00 per page - for a certified copy, the cost is an additional $4.00 per document.
- [37] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Online copy order — card convenience fee
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Credit and debit cards are accepted, although a $2.00 convenience fee is charged per transaction.
- [38] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — In-person copy order — card convenience fee
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Credit and debit cards are accepted, although a $2.50 convenience fee is charged with the usage of a card.
- [39] Sonoma — property records (opens in a new tab)
Sonoma County official service / referred provider · County Recorder — Official public-record copy request form
Source reviewed October 15, 2026View supporting excerpt
Official Public Record Copies Request